This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Costa Rica

Costa Rica is made up of 7 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Costa Rica. Information on all primary administrative regions in Costa Rica.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Costa Rica alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Costa Rica

There are 7 regions in Costa Rica in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Costa Rica
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Alajuela Provincia de Alajuela1.885,571Alajuela Alajuela47,494
Cartago Provincia de Cartago2.490,903Cartago Cartago26,594
Guanacaste Provincia de Guanacaste3.354,154Liberia Liberia45,380
Heredia Provincia de Heredia4.433,677Heredia Heredia21,947
Limon Provincia de Limón5.386,862Limon Limón63,081
Puntarenas Provincia de Puntarenas6.410,929Puntarenas Puntarenas35,650
San Jose Provincia de San José7.1,404,242San Jose San José335,007